In Utah, you'll need a state-issued license to work as an elevator mechanic, but the state doesn't license elevator contractors at the state level. Instead, the Division of Professional and Occupational Licensing (DOPL) licenses individual elevator mechanics under rules set by the Utah Labor Commission's Boiler, Elevator, and Amusement Ride Safety Program. This guide will walk you through the qualifications, application process, and fees to get your Utah Elevator Mechanic license.
Do you need a license to work on elevators in Utah?
Yes, a license is required to perform elevator mechanic work in Utah. The Division of Professional and Occupational Licensing (DOPL) issues the Elevator Mechanic license, and the specific qualifications and scope of work are defined in state administrative rules, including Utah Admin. Code R156-55e. This requirement ensures that individuals working on elevators, escalators, and related equipment meet established safety and competency standards.
Who issues the Utah elevator mechanic license (and who handles the rest)?
The Utah Division of Professional and Occupational Licensing (DOPL) issues the license for individual elevator mechanics. However, the broader regulatory framework, including safety codes, inspections, and operating permits, is managed by the Utah Labor Commission's Boiler, Elevator, and Amusement Ride Safety Program. Understanding this split is crucial for a smooth application and compliance process.
What are the license tiers or classifications in Utah?
Utah issues a single Elevator Mechanic license with no formal tiers or classifications like Class A or B. In addition to the mechanic license, the state also offers a distinct State Elevator Inspector certification for qualified individuals who perform safety inspections. The qualifications for inspectors are based on experience and education, including meeting the definition of "elevator personnel" as defined by the ASME A17.1 safety code.
What are the qualifications for a Utah elevator mechanic license?
To qualify for an Elevator Mechanic license in Utah, applicants must meet one of two pathways under Utah Code 58-55-302(3)(m).
Path 1 — Documented experience plus the state exam
- Experience: Not less than three years of work experience in the elevator industry, in construction, maintenance, or service and repair.
- Exam: Satisfactory completion of a written examination administered by the division. The specific passing score is not specified in the sources reviewed; confirm the current standard with DOPL.
Path 2 — Completing a registered apprenticeship
Applicants who provide a certificate of completion from an elevator mechanic apprenticeship program — with standards substantially equal to this chapter and registered with the U.S. Department of Labor Bureau of Apprenticeship and Training or a state apprenticeship council — may qualify without the years-of-experience requirement. Approved programs typically include those recognized nationally, such as the National Association of Elevator Contractors (NAEC) Certified Elevator Technician (CET) program or the National Elevator Industry Educational Program (NEIEP). Whether the apprenticeship path also waives the state exam is not specified in the sources reviewed; confirm with DOPL.
What does the Utah elevator mechanic exam cover?
The Utah Elevator Examination is a state-issued test required for applicants who qualify through supervised experience rather than a registered apprenticeship. The exam assesses an applicant's knowledge of elevator installation, maintenance, repair, and safety codes. The specific content outline and scheduling information are provided by DOPL. The exam is administered by the state, not a national third-party provider like NASCLA.
- Exam Name: Utah Elevator Examination
- Passing Score: Not specified in the sources reviewed; confirm the current passing score with DOPL.
- Scheduling: Exam scheduling is handled through DOPL after an application is approved.
How much does the Utah elevator mechanic license cost?
The fees for elevator work in Utah are set by the Utah Labor Commission and vary significantly based on the type of work (new construction, remodel, existing certification) and the equipment itself. The mechanic license application fee is set separately by DOPL. The following are the published fees for equipment certificates and inspections.
Existing Elevator Certification Fees:
- Hydro and Electric (1-10 floors): $102.00
- Electric (11-20 floors): $153.00
- Electric (21-30 floors): $204.00
- Electric (over 30 floors): $255.00
New Construction & Remodel Fees:
- New Electric (1-10 floors): $840.00
- New Electric (11-20 floors): $1,117.20
- New Electric (21-30 floors): $1,394.40
- New Electric (over 30 floors): $1,671.60
- New/Remodeled Hydraulic: $360.00
- New Roped Hydraulic: $600.00
- New Handicapped Elevator: $240.00
- New Escalator/Moving Walk: $840.00
- Remodeled Electric (1-10 floors): $600.00
Other Fees:
- Special Inspection: $72.00 per hour, plus expenses.
How long does it take to get an elevator mechanic license in Utah?
The time required to obtain your license depends on your chosen qualification path. The apprenticeship path typically takes several years to complete. For those qualifying by experience, you must first accumulate the required supervised work hours. Once an application is submitted, processing times can vary. Current application-processing and exam-scheduling timelines are published by DOPL; confirm with the division before applying.
How do you renew an elevator mechanic license in Utah?
An Elevator Mechanic license in Utah must be renewed every two years. According to the Utah Labor Commission's Elevator/Escalator Compliance Manual, a "certificate will remain valid for a period of two years from the date on the Certificate of Inspection/Permit to Operate unless revoked by the Division." This ties the validity of work permissions to the periodic routine inspection cycle, which also occurs every two years.
Does Utah require continuing education for elevator mechanics?
No state-level continuing education requirement for elevator mechanics was identified in the sources reviewed. However, if you maintain a voluntary certification, such as the NAEC's CET credential, you will need to meet that program's specific continuing education requirements to keep your certification active.
Does Utah have reciprocity or endorsement for out-of-state elevator mechanics?
The state's published rules do not specify any formal reciprocity or endorsement agreements with other states for the Elevator Mechanic license. The process for out-of-state licensed mechanics seeking licensure in Utah is determined by DOPL on a case-by-case basis. Applicants should contact DOPL directly to determine if their existing license and experience meet Utah's requirements for licensure by endorsement.
What's the related State Elevator Inspector path?
Separate from the mechanic license, Utah offers a State Elevator Inspector certification. This credential is for professionals who inspect elevator equipment for compliance with state safety codes. The qualifications are distinct from those for a mechanic:
- Experience: Have "four or more years of verifiable documented education and experience in the mechanical and/or electrical aspects of the elevator industry."
- Education Alternative: Have two or more years of college courses in an elevator industry-related engineering field.
- ASME Alternative: Meet the definition of "elevator personnel" as established in the ASME A17.1 safety code.
How does Utah's elevator licensing compare to other states?
Utah's licensing system, which focuses on individual mechanics rather than contracting entities at the state level, is similar to that of many other states. The dual-agency oversight by DOPL and the Labor Commission is a key structural detail. The state's acceptance of both apprenticeship and supervised experience for qualification is a common model, though the specific hour requirements and exam details vary nationwide.